The University of Mississippi

Minutes of Meeting, July 12, 2012

Staff Council

Physical Plant Conference Room

Present: Premalatha Balachandran, Paula Beard, Kristina Boggan, Joey Brent, Jessica Coker, Kim Chrestman, Missy Downey, Tiffany Edwards, Alicia Goodson, Paul Goolsby, Shelia Goolsby, Melinda Grimmett, Carl Hill, Kelly Houston, Julius Minor, Ginger Patterson, Raymus Purnell, Felisa Redmond, Precious Thompson, Patricia Stewart, Jacquline Vinson, Amanda Walker, and Deetra Wiley.

Absent-Excused: Doug Gurley, Valerie Haynes, Natcha Knight-Evans, Merrill Magruder, Pamela Smith and Johnette Taylor-Jenkins

Absent-Unexcused: Eric Blakely, Jeffrey Boyd, Shelley McGraw and Nicki Weaver

Roll call: (Sign-in sheet)

Call to Order: The July 12 Staff Council meeting, was called to order by new president Amanda Walker at 10:32a.m. Amanda briefly commented on goals for the upcoming year being how the Staff Council can increase the communication with the overall university staff population. A recorder was purchased for the secretary to produce more accurate information from the meetings, and a Campbell Solutions Representative (Caleb Robinson) did a demonstration on how we can update and redesign the Staff Council website using "Wordpress" to make it user friendly for the officers and president to maintain.

The motion was moved by Kim Chrestman and second by Premalatha Balachandran to change the Facebook group page to a Facebook fan page. This will allow the ability to link both Facebook and twitter to the staff council website. Approved by consensus

The motion was moved by Joey Brent and seconded by Julius Minor to update and redesign the staff council website at the cost of \$900. Approved by consensus

The president and members of the staff council agreed to bring back the newsletter electronically and have copies made for those staff members who do not have access to a computer. This will begin in August/ November and continue to do on a quarterly basis.

Minutes: The June minutes was approved with one correction moving Joey Brent from unexcused to excuse in June Meeting. Motion to approved the minutes was by Kim Chrestman and seconded by Premalatha Balachandran Approved by Consensus The minutes are sent out via email and any comments/questions/or changes should be emailed to Jacquline Vinson (jvinson@olemiss.edu).

Treasurer's Report: The July treasurer report will be approved at the August Meeting due to an error in one of the line items. The treasurer report is sent out via email and any comments/questions/or changes should be emailed to Melinda Grimmett (mel12@olemiss.edu).

New Business:

A copy of the No Smoking Policy Final Draft was circulated and discussed during the meeting. It was asked that we strongly encourage fellow staff members to abide by the new upcoming policy. This policy will go into effect August 1; with full enforcement to take place January 1, 2013.

Kim Chrestman questioned if the university would be able to recycle or resale the smoking canisters on campus now that the Smoke Free Policy has been approved. President Amanda Walker agreed to follow up with the Chancellor and Implementation Committee on the concern since the canisters were an expensive cost to the university.

Nominations were taken on selection of a Staff Member of the Month. Council voted on the nominees and affirmed the July Staff Member of the Month. The new staff member of the Month for July is Ms. Stephanie Brown, Staff Assistant in the MAMP office. A certificate will be given to Stephanie, and hopefully something from Marketing.

Committee Reports:

Staff members were asked to sign up for committees for the upcoming year.

Announcements/Concerns:

1. Email Amanda Walker if you have any suggestions for speakers for upcoming meetings.

Meeting adjourned 11:30a.m.

Next Meeting: Thursday, August 9 at 10:00 A.M., Physical Plant Conference Room.

Minutes recorded by Jacquline Vinson.

Staff Council Officers for 2012-2013:

Amanda Walker, President Natcha Knight-Evans, President-Elect Jackie Vinson, Secretary Premalatha Balachandran, Text Book Scholarship Coordinator Melinda Grimmett, Treasurer